top of page
Featured Posts

Photographer Spotlight, Pt. 3: Linda McCartney

Finally, in Part 3 of our Photographer Spotlight for June, we're taking a look at some of Linda's McCartney's lesser known images, more still lifes and landscapes than portraiture of family candids. Linda was well-known for her images of the McCartney family, images of Wings and the Beatles and other entertainment icons, but she also captured many landscape and still life images, capturing the beauty of the world around her. As she liked to say, "If you see something that moves you, and then snap it, you keep a moment." and after all, whether you are the busy mom trying to record the first birthday, the proud parent documenting the graduation, or a professional photographer looking to preserve wedding memories by freezing time, isn't that really why any of us ever pick up a camera?

So without any further adieu, here is Part 3 of my June Photographer Spotlight on Linda McCartney.....

I love tea. I love glass. I really can't say much more about this photo that it doesn't already say for itself. Image © Linda McCartney,

There's a wry humour in this image, "Whiskey and Milk". The juxtaposition between the baby bottle and the adult bottle tells a story of life, on so many levels. I love it. Image © Linda McCartney,

Clouds, 1976, Image © Linda McCartney,

This image is a beautiful play of light and shadow. For me, it has the same appeal that draws me to stand out in my yard on a partly cloudy day, stalking a sunset as though it was the first I'd ever witnessed. The quiet contrast of the ships on the sea, and the drama of the crepuscular rays emanating from the cloud....these are the things that draw me to pick up a camera and shoot. I am unsure which of the two images of the same photo is the original, but I posted both here, because the mood of each seems different to me.

The darker version of the image. As I said, I don't know which is the original image Linda shot, and if any of you does know, feel free to clue me in! But this version, a moodier scene, to me makes the cloud and the crepuscular rays of the sun the real focus. It's as beautiful as the other version.

Lucky Spot in Daisy field, Sussex, 1985, Image © Linda McCartney, Linda loved horse all her life. I suppose that is something she and I, and 70 billion other little girls all about the planet, have in common. Linda was a horse lover all her life, a champion rider by age 13.

Standing Stone and Appaloosa, 1996, Image © Linda McCartney,

Cherries, Antigua, 1970, Image © Linda McCartney,

It's not a bowl of cherries. It may have been at one point. In fact, it's kind of a mess. Yet, that approaching "Golden Hour" light bathes the cherry-covered ledge in a way that gives the cherries the semblance of salmon eggs glowing in the afternoon sun. Or maybe it was morning light. I honestly don't know. What I do know is, something in myself, in my own artist's eye, sees whatever it was Linda saw in this image, and it's that inexplicable "something" that makes me like this image. It's the color, it's the glow. It's the parallel I see between the glorious, glowing, sticky mess on the ledge, and the mess we call life.

I can't explain it, I can only feel it. It's like photographer Lewis Hine once said: " If I could tell the story in words, I wouldn't have to lug around a camera. " Some of us just have to take a picture.

Cattle, Montserrat, 1981, Image © Linda McCartney,

I realize that cattle on a beach isn't unusual to a lot of folks. Even in my native state if California, you might see cattle on the Central or Northern coast where the ranches meet the sea. Even so, I love the slight off-putting feeling of seeing of cattle on the beach. What's more amusing is, they seem to be enjoying their day at the beach immensely. Makes me jealous.

Linda Louise Eastman, Lady McCartney. If anyone knows the photographer who took this portrait, please advise, I would be glad to give credit where credit is due.

Linda McCartney died of cancer at the age of 56, April 17, 1998. in Tuscon Arizona at the family ranch. She continued doing the things she loved right up until the day she died.

Linda McCartney being Linda.

For those who may be interested in seeing more of, or owning a collection of some of Linda McCartney's works, the following are some of her books available at various retail outlets online:

The Sixties, Portrait of an Era

Linda McCartney: Life in Photographs, photos by Linda, authored by Annie Leibovitz and Martin Harrison, published by Taschen .

Wide Open, a collection of photos by Linda, with Foreword by Paul McCartney

Linda's Kitchen, just one of her many meatless/vegan cookbooks. Linda was a dedicated animal rights and healthy eating advocate. The company was created in 1991 by Linda, sold in 2000 to Heinz, and sold again in 2006 to the Hain Celestial Group.[3] The McCartney family remains involved in its development. She has published several vegetarian cookbooks as well. Above is just one.

Following are some contributors to my research on the works and life of Linda McCartney. Please do visit their websites to learn more:

As always, if you see something interesting, share it forward! I hope you enjoyed this June Photographer Spotlight on Linda McCartney. Please do begin a conversation in the Comments section below! Tell me what you think, what you enjoy about her works, or even suggest future photographers I might feature in Spotlight posts to come. It is my hope you enjoyed this month's feature. Tell me, what'd you think?

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page