top of page
Featured Posts

Photographer Spotlight: Dorothea Lange

So, a feature I'd like to bring to my blog is "Photographer Spotlight". I have mulled this idea over for several weeks now, and to begin with, chose a couple of photographers whose work I admire and am Inspired by: Dorothea Lange, and Linda McCartney. Both different styles, different eras, different subjects. However, there are facets of each artist's work I am drawn to and learn from, and absolutely enjoy. For my first Photographer Spotlight, I'd like to introduce you to Dorothea Lange and her photographic works.

(It should be obvious, but as a disclaimer, credit for all images in this post belong to Dorothea Lange. I have linked to websites at the end where I found many of the images, along with some very interesting information about the artist.)

Migrant Mother, Nipomo, California, 1936, by Dorothea Lange

Though you may not have heard Dorothea Lange's name, I'm quite certain that at some point in your life, you've seen examples of her work. Her most recognizable piece being the image above, "Migrant Mother, Nipomo, CA, 1936". Lange did quite a bit of work for various government agencies in her day, driven by her love of the craft and a desire to explore and expose the human condition of the times. Lange did a fantastic job of bringing to our sheltered eyes the realities of life, the lives of those less fortunate, and things many Americans were largely unaware of. Her work brought into light the good and the bad of life: the power of Nature over man's best efforts, the injustices of a government toward its own citizens, everyday life in a small town, people on the streets doing what they do from all walks of life, and faces of people from the other side of the world that we might never meet.

Migrant Dust Bowl grandmother, near Bakersfield, Ca., by D. Lange

Oklahoma Mother, 1937, by D. Lange. Though times were difficult and uncertain, when I look at this image, I still see a certain determination , and a glint of hope for a better future, in this woman's eyes. Lange captured it perfectly.

Migrant worker's daughter at camp, 1939, image by D. Lange

I'd poured a lot of research into this first Spotlight post, mostly because I have always loved Dorothea Lange's work, and partly because the more time I spent researching, the deeper the rabbit hole became. I am an unabashed lover of history, and much of Lange's imagery with which I was already familiar was shot in my own home state where I was born and raised. Kern County and California's Central Valley were the setting for much of the Dust Bowl migration drama of the 1930's, and for Dorothea's images. I have deep roots in the region myself, so I feel a connection to those images and the stories behind them.

Migrant jalopy climbing what appears to be the Grapevine pass. The image was indeed made in Kern County, Ca. in 1939, by Dorothea Lange.

One of many displaced farm workers seeking FSA aid in Kern County, Ca., 1938. Image most likely taken in Bakersfield, the county seat. Photo by D. Lange

Migrant Dust Bowl family, by D. Lange

But, as always happens with my research and rabbit holes, my notes, and the body of her work I discovered grew far too large to just create a blog post. I was drawn again into the story of the WW I federally-mandated Roundup and internment of Japanese American citizens, and one of the main "relocation" camps, Manzanar.

Japanese American Business, Oakland Ca, 1942, by D. Lange

Japanese Americans registration in San Francisco, 1942, by D. Lange

Being that it's a part of California history that was taught in school when I was young, and having camped near the area a few times, I was familiar with that place in the Owens Valley, not far from my hometown. Dorothea Lange, as well as Ansel Adams ( another of my favorite photographers) both shot some wonderful and telling images of Manzanar and the "relocation" effort, documenting a dark shadow of American history and recording moving images of the people and landscape of that chapter.

Young Japanese American boy at Manzanar, by D. Lange

Mother and child, image from inside a community or family barrack, Manzanar, possibly 1943. Image by D. Lange

Grandfather and Grandchild, Manzanar, 1943, by D. Lange

Lange also shot some fine photos for Life magazine assignments, stories that might be lesser known to most of us, her government and historic works overshadowing those. I decided to share some of these as well. At some point, I realized, this madness had to stop, or there'd never be a blog post! So much has already been written about Lange, what could I possibly add without resorting to plagiarism? So, being steadfastly opposed to plagiarism myself, I decided to write my own little (??) bit. I'd post the images that move and inspire me personally, include some very good in-depth links to articles and historic pieces, and let you explore Lange's works for yourself. After all, my intention in spotlighting a particular artist is to help you discover them for yourself, in your own way.

"Tractored Out", by D. Lange. "Tractored out" was a term coined that meant the growing use of tractor farming, to work large pieces of land, paired with the drought conditions, left vast regions as nothing more than barren, dusty ground, with no vegetation to hold them together, creating the "Dust Bowl" conditions of the Midwestern and Southern plains. This in effect drove out and dsiplaced many farming families-- they were "tractored out".

Best known by most for her Dust Bowl migration documentary work, Lange also covered the Japanese American "relocation" (translate: roundup) efforts, mostly shot in California, particularly at the Manzanar camp. She also covered lifestyles of Americans in the 50's, and rural Irish citizens of the same era,, for some Life Magazine assignments.

Bridie O'Halloran, Ireland, 1954, by D. Lange for LIFE Magazine

Ireland, 1954, for LIFE Magazine, D. Lange

Irishmen and Youth, 1954, by D. Lange for LIFE Magazine

Hoofs and Feet, Ireland, 1954, Dorothea Lange

Speaking for myself, I find in most of her work a great beauty, even in the haunting or seemingly hopeless imagery. Lange's keen eye for beauty amidst the ordinary, coupled with her reportage style, seems to have brought to the fore the humanity behind the story. It gives even greater depth to what otherwise would be nothing more than another bit of copy space in a newspaper. Her images gave the stories a face, a name, even when there was no name the viewer knew of. Lange's images beckon you to look deeper, past the surface, and into the life behind the story.

Small Farm, Contra Costa County, Ca, by D. Lange

Detail of old cabin in Gunlock Utah, 1953, by D. Lange

Thunderheads over Utah, 1953, Dorothea Lange. Lange also did many landscape beautiful landscape images, of which I myself was unaware until recently.

Detail of old building, Gunlock, UT, 1953, D. Lange

Oh, and just for fun....I know you've seen this iconic image of Albert Einstein not taking himself too seriously, genius that he was. Yep, this too is a Dorothea Lange photo.

Image by Dorothea Lange

Please check out the other images and links below. There are far too many of Lange's works to be able to post here, though I so very much wanted to! Follow the links in this article, peruse Dorothea's body of work, and see what you might find in her images and story. You could be surprised.

For more about Dorothea Lange, and to see more of her works:

My favorite article in all my research, this one at Anchored Editions. A must read for Lange fans and history buffs alike!

Coming up in my next Photographer Spotlight: a retrospective of Linda McCartney and her photographs.

Please leave comments and questions in the box below. What did you think of this Photographer Spotlight? Did you find it enlightening or entertaining? Who would you like to see featured in future Spotlight articles? I am open to suggestions, whether well-known artists, or up-and-coming photographers of our own time. Leave a comment or suggestion below, and as always, if you liked what you see, please do share using the Social Media buttons below! Appreciate the love!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page