top of page
Featured Posts

Favorite Shoot of 2015

Our youngest child is moving out this weekend.

I knew the day would come, and expected the feelings I would have, but still, no matter how prepared you are for that day, a wistful, happy sadness, still finds a way to insert itself in your day, while you continue to go about the rest of your life as though nothing out of the ordinary is happening.

Life is a series of letting go. From the day you are born, and the day your children are born, and the day a loved one passes from this world, and many other days in between, life is a series of letting go. In the last 15 years, I have been presented with this letting go lesson many, many times, but it's only in the last two years that I have recognized, embraced, and understood that letting go and writing new chapters is okay, and necessary. So grateful for that lesson, as I am becoming a better human for it,

But I digress.

This post is about my favorite shoot of 2015, which ultimately leads to 2016, the year our youngest graduated high school and embarked on her journey of adulthood. Though she is now a freshman in college, she stayed at home another year or so to put her plan together, save herself a little trouble, and get her bearings on what it is she wishes to do with her life. It has been a good year, and I've enjoyed the little bit of time we've been able to share with her when she hasn't been working, or at school, or just generally checking out her wings.

But this is about my favorite shoot of 2015, and it revolves around her. In an effort to save her a little money, and also utilize my own photography skills while learning new ones, we mutually decided to shoot her Senior Portraits ourselves. I was honored that she actually wanted me to, and she had some great ideas of how she wanted them to look. On a couple of beautiful autumn days, around the Golden Hour, we hopped in the truck and went to a couple of our favorite places with a few small props of her choosing, and proceeded to experiment. The results were what I think are some beautiful keepsakes, and to my delight, E was pleased with them too. This series is several examples from her shoot.

While portrait photography is not my "thing", I enjoy shooting people now and then, although candids at events are my favorite way to do so.

We enjoyed the afternoon we spent shooting E's portraits, and came away with some lovely photos I will always cherish.

Now, if the procrastinator in me would just get out and get a few printed, and disseminate them to loving relatives, and hang a few on my own walls, the project will be complete.

Congratulations again, E, on college, on the new job, on boldly following your muse, on growing up. I wish you always only the best in your life. We are prouder of you than you will ever fathom, and can't wait to see what you become as time rolls along. Thanks for spending a few hours with me and my camera, talking, shooting, enjoying one another's company, and enjoying the outdoors we both love so much.

I love you.

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page