top of page
Featured Posts

3 Shots From Spring of 2016

As I was rushing off to work last Thursday morning, I found myself amazed at the sudden appearance of the blossoms on the various trees and shrubs. For the last couple weeks, with the unseasonable warm temps we've had here in Illinois, we could see were the promising little buds fattening up everywhere. Thursday was slated to hit a high of around 70 degrees, and it did not disappoint. On the drive home that evening, it was as if as if a broad arboreal conspiracy had burst forth in riot. Most of the trees I pass on my daily commute, that were only in bud that morning, were now in full blossom a mere 8 hours later. Quite a sight to see!

Currently, it is mostly the tulip trees and black locust, some Bradford pears, and the flowering purple plums At home, where our trees are more open to the prairie winds and less protected than their townie cousins, our peach tree has a handful of buds opening. But everywhere are signs of Spring: daffodils and crocuses, flowering trees, and greening lawns and wheat fields. I guess when I had seen that flock of robins at work the first week of February, I should have believed it would be an early Spring.

Now, if only all this flowering can survive the big chill and predicted snowfall of the next three days.....

(Top: Wild dogwood on our property) (Middle: Bradford Pear in full bloom) (Bottom: Wild violet in the woods)

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page